in ,

Senate confirms NDIC MD, refers request to confirm Service Chiefs, Ambassadors to c’ttees

The Senate on Wednesday confirmed the nominations of Messrs Bello Hassan and Mustapha Mohammed Ibrahim as Managing Director/Chief Executive and Executive Director (Operations) of the Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC) respectively.

The Senate also referred President Muhammadu Buhari’s request for the confirmation of the newly appointed Chief of Defence Staff and Service Chiefs to the Joint Committee on Defence, Army, Airforce and Navy for screening. 

On NDIC, Chairman of Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance and Other Financial Institutions, Sen. Uba Sani who presented the committee’s report at plenary informed the Senate that the committee established that the two appointments were in accordance with Sections 54 and 83 of the NDIC Act No 16 of 2006 as amended.

He also said his committee found out that both Hassan and Ibrahim possessed the required technical knowledge, academic qualifications and professional experience to serve as MD/CE and ED (OPs) of NDIC respectively.

When the Senate President, Sen. Ahmed Lawan presented the nominations to the Committee of Whole for vote, they were unanimously endorsed and consequently confirmed. While formally announcing the confirmation, the Senate President congratulated the two appointees and wished them well in their endeavours.

It would be recalled that President Muhammadu Buhari on December 18 forwarded the names of Hassan and Ibrahim as NDIC’s MD/CE and (ED (OPs) nominees respectively to the Senate for screening and confirmation.

Meanwhile the  new Service Chiefs to be screened are: Major General Lucky Irabor, Major General Ibrahim Attahiru, Rear Admiral Awwal Gambo and Air Vice Marshal Isiaka Amao as Chief of Defence Staff, Chief of Army Staff, Chief of Naval Staff and Chief of Air Staff, respectively.

Also referred was the President’s request for the confirmation of General Abayomi Olonisakin (Rtd); Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai (Rtd); Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas (Rtd); Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar(Rtd); and Air Vice Marshal Muhammad S. Usman (Rtd) as Non-Career Ambassador-Designate to the Committee on Foreign Affairs.

The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, while referring the nomination of Barr. Victor Chinemerem Muruako for appointment as Chairman, Fiscal Responsibility Commission to the Committee on Finance; also referred the nomination of Larry Obinna Chukwu as Commissioner for the Nigerian Law Reform to the Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters. 

The Committees were all given two weeks to report back to the Senate.

Written by ExpressDay


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





Lawan asks Buhari to nominate FCT indigene as Ambassador

Environmental Agenda Setting For New Energy World Order