in , , ,

PCS declines Magu’s promotion, confirms 3 DIGs, promotes 35 DCPs, other senior officers

…CP Ciroma of FCT, 23 others now AIGs

By Hassan Zaggi
The Police Service Commission (PSC) has declined the promotion of the former acting Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), CP Ibrahim Magu.
The Commission declined the promotion of CP Magu pending clearance from the office of the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice and the Office of the Inspector General of Police.
This is contained in a statement by the PSC Spokesman, Ikechukwu Ani, in Abuja, Thursday.
However, the current Commissioner of Police (CP) in charge of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Command, Bala Ciroma, and 23 other CPs have been promoted to the next rank of  Assistant Inspectors General of Police (AIG).
Also, apart from confirming  the acting appointments of three Deputy Inspectors General of Police (DIGs), the  PSC, during its 12th Plenary Meeting chaired by the Chairman of the Commission, Musiliu Smith, also promoted 35 Deputy Commissioners of Police, to the rank of Commissioners, 52 Assistant Commissioners of Police to Deputy Commissioners and 46 Chief Superintendents of Police to Assistant Commissioners.
It also considered and approved the promotion of 10 Superintendents of Police to Chief Superintendents, 17 Deputy Superintendents of Police to Superintendents, 139 Assistant Superintendents of Police, whose names were skipped during the last promotion, to Deputy Superintendents and 9 Inspectors to Assistant Superintendents of Police.
The three DIGs whose acting appointments were confirmed by the Commission were Tijanni Baba who replaced Rtd DIG Aminchi Samaila Baraya for North East; Zanna Mohammed Ibrahim, who replaced Rtd DIG Ibrahim Larmode, North East and  DIG Moses A. Jitoboh who replaced Rtd DIG Ogbizi Michael for South South.

The 24 Commissioners of Police promoted to Assistant Inspectors General of Police were; Usman Nagogo, currently CP Federal Intelligence Bureau, Force Headquarters Abuja; Bala Ciroma, Cp, FCT Command; Ahmad Abdurrahman, NIPPS, Jos; Adeleke Adeyinka Bode, CP, Kebbi State Command; Muri Umar Musa, CP Kaduna State Command; Lawal Jimeta Tanko,( former  COMPOL POPOL) and presently Commandant Police Academy Wudil Kano; Dauda Abdulkarim, Commandant Police Traning College Kaduna; Usman Alhassan Belele, CP Research and Development, Force Headquarters Abuja; Adebola Emmanuel Longe, CP. Nasarawa State; Musa Adze, CP Anti Fraud, FCIID, Abuja; Philip Sule, former CP Ebonyi and currently CP SPU Force Headquarters, Abuja; Usman Sule Gomna, CP Jigawa  State Command; Adamu Usman, CP Niger State Command; Daniel Sokari Pedro, Deputy Commandant, Police Academy Wudil, Kano; Ahmed Mohammed Azare, CP Taraba Command; Adamu Saleh Jajeri; Maigana Alhaji Sani, CP FCIID Annex Kaduna; Audu Adamu Madaki, former CP Welfare, presently CP, Benue State; Ibrahim Sani Kaoje; NIPPS; John Ogbonnaya Amadi CP Airport Command; Ede Ayuba Ekpeji, CP Kogi State Command; Mohammed Bagega, Kwara State Command; Bello Makwashi, CP Borno State Command, Buba Sanusi, CP Katsina State Command.
While congratulating the newly promoted senior officers, the Chairman of the Commission, Musiliu Smith, charged them to remain committed to the service of the Nigerian nation and to operate within the laws of the land and with the fear of God.
He assured that the Commission will continue to ensure that promotions in the Police Force follow due process and as at when due.

Written by ExpressDay

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

COVID-19: Delta Variant found in Nigeria-NCDC

2023: Forum asks INEC to deregister parties without adequate women participation