in , , ,

FG reopens land borders

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the reopening of four land borders with immediate effect.

These include Seme Border in the Southwest, Ilela Border in the Northwest as well as Maigatari Border in Northwest and Mfun Border in South-South; while the remaining land borders will be reopened December 31, 2020.

The Minister of Finance Budget and National Planning, Mrs. Zainab Ahmed, disclosed this after todays’ Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting chaired by Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo.

The Minister explained that restrictions on the importation of some commodities, like rice, would however, continue to be enforced.

Her words: “These four land land borders will be reopened immediately while the remaining borders are directed to be reopened on or before 31st of December, 2020.

“Mr. President has also directed on the reopening of the borders that while others are being reopened, the ban on importation of rice, poultry and other banned products still subsists and will be implemented by border patrol team.”

The President had ordered the borders shut last year in a bid to check smuggling of prohibited items like rice and light weapons.

Written by ExpressDay


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





Appeal court upturns Metuh’s conviction

FG committed to Niger Delta development — Minister